screams from inside the cocoon

Is there really ever any way to feel like you aren’t the eye of the storm,
calm only before the violent outbursts of a heart that doesn’t know it shattered  but
knows that once it did things were never the same anymore,

like licorice kisses,
sweet but always waiting, always waiting for the part in the story where the ground stops shaking, where the sky stops falling, where the noise doesn’t sound like the glass cutting into you and

you’re gone,
disappeared from the photos of the girl with the braids who thought love was a fair game, who believed she could play it,
lost from the words that spun around your head like whirlpools because they’ve turned into black holes and suddenly you don’t know how to survive them at all and

are you even alive after all –

someone rip me from this plastic that has been melted around me, that has kept me transparent but impossible to touch;

this is not what I was made to be,
I am flesh and bones and bleeding,
I am not silicone and melted barbie dolls,

please

believe me when I say I never meant to end up like this,
believe me when I say I am oceans and stardust,
believe me when I kiss you because

my lips don’t lie the way my voice does, the way my hands do, the way my eyes learned to,

please

I think I’m dying

3 thoughts on “screams from inside the cocoon”

  1. “Like licorice kisses,
    sweet but always waiting, always waiting for the part in the story where the ground stops shaking, where the sky stops falling, where the noise doesn’t sound like the glass cutting into you” nice

    Like

Leave a Reply

