my silence is the loudest

you place your hands around my neck,

a swift smile poised delicately on the edge

of your lips watching as I beg,

as I plead for remnants of the

air we used to breathe, and

even as I draw circles like

rings of fire that are burning my

brain, you whisper denials and dismissals

instead, as if the words that my voice

constructs don’t deserve to resonate

in the space between us, like the

way my eyes break from

yours doesn’t ask for more

from you, as if the person

you are

outweighs the depths of who

I’ve become, but

all I need is for you to

listen

 

just once.

Leave a Reply

